Kicking off the New Year with a Celebration of Excellence

We kicked off 2020 with a celebration of excellence in South Dakota.

Monday, January 6 at the Joy Center in Spearfish we recognized 8 individuals and organizations for the Acts of Excellence. The day started with South Dakota Public Broadcasting interviewing 4 of the recipients, Gloria Riherd, Joe Smith, Laurie Stenberg Nichols, and Alexandra Doyle on their In the Moment segment.

If you missed it live or want to listen again, you can find it archived soon on SDPB’s website here.

The afternoon consisted of video interviews of Acts of Excellence (AOE) recipients and ended with a celebration for these incredible AOEs:

1. Gloria Riherd, author of “Becky Hammon Shooting for Success”
2. BHSU Sustainability for their environmental awareness
3. Edgemont for the restoration of a historic bridge
4. Alexandra Doyle for giving back through Blue Spruce Coffee Truck
5. Jim White of Rapid City for donating his kidney to 16-year-old Woope Claymore
6. The Elliot family for funding the Children’s Learning Center at Sturgis Library
7. SHIFT Garage for assisting a community in need with vehicle repairs
8. Mount Rushmore for going green with the installation of 975 solar panels

Keep an eye out for these video interviews in the upcoming weeks!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close